Identification of minimally invasive biomarkers to monitor chronic disease progression and to assess efficacy and safety of new therapies and vaccines

The major goal of this project is the identification of new biomarkers that can be detected by minimally invasive methods (as drawing of very small volumes of peripheral blood) and that allow to strictly monitor disease progression as well as the efficacy and safety of drugs and vaccines. We will assess the presence in human sera of two types of molecules of interest:

1) Autoantibodies: through an immunoproteomic approach that allows the preparation and exploitation of protein arrays composed by thousands of human proteins for the identification and characterization of serum autoantibodies.
2) MicroRNAs: through the development of a platform for the molecular detection and identification of regulatory RNA (in particular microRNAs) circulating in human serum associated to either protein complexes or vesicles, called exosomes.

Despite the two approaches differ at a methodological and technological level, they have both the goal of responding to the following unmet medical needs:
a) Identify biomarkers in the serum of patients affected by chronic diseases to identify the individuals who will develop the worst complications.
b) Identify biomarkers in the serum of patients and healthy subjects to prognosticate the individuals who will respond better to drugs and vaccines.
c) Assess whether it is possible to diagnose unwanted effects of drugs and vaccines, during clinical trials, before they become clinically evident.

Projects

  • Identification of autoantibodies as minimally invasive biomarkers to monitor chronic disease progression and improve diagnosis
  • Identification of serum microRNAs as minimally invasive biomarkers to monitor chronic disease progression and improve diagnosis

Team

Nome / NameRuolo / RoleEmail
Mauro Bombaci, PhDStaff Scientistbombaci@ingm.org
Susanna CampagnoliLaboratory Techniciancampagnoli@ingm.org
Renata Grifantini, PhDGroup Leadergrifantini@ingm.org
Paola Gruarin, PhDStaff Scientistgruarin@ingm.org
Martina MartinovicPhD studentmartinovic@ingm.org
Elisa Pesce, PhDPost Docpesce@ingm.org
Alessandro Poli, PhDGraduate Fellowpolia@ingm.org
Maria Lucia SarnicolaLaboratory Techniciansarnicola@ingm.org
Antonio Enrico ZauritoStudentzaurito@ingm.org

Publications

INGM RESEARCH IS SUPPORTED BY